The Champ, in the world of timekeeping? Mechanical vs. Quartz! UB the Judge

The Champ, in the world of timekeeping? Mechanical vs. Quartz! UB the Judge

Post by Guest » December 16th 2010, 9:11pm

This subject comes up from time to time in every forum I have visited. As I am new to this one, I am asking you to decide. Look at toughness, longevity, price, accuracy, the entire gamut and make your case on why one is better than the other. Then, if you happen to be on the mechanical side, state your argument for auto self wind or manual wind. I am as biased as everyone else out there so I will not speak to the issue at hand as I started the tread. But, I do expect to get quite and education as to the pros and cons in these movements. What I am excited about the most is, this forum lets you take hard swings with the warning you have to take them back. I expect this forum may be the best out there to openly and honestly debate this question, no holds barred!

If this debate has run on this forum before, please forgive me for being late and redundant. However, if it has not, what better arena for this debate to go on?

Now, WHAT SAY YOU?
Last edited by Guest on December 17th 2010, 5:40am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fix typo and spelling
Falstaff
Watchlord WIS
Facebook ID: 0

Re: The Champ, in the world of timekeeping? Mechanical vs. Quartz! UB the Judge

Post by Falstaff » December 17th 2010, 8:32am

Absolutely! Not trying to be a smartass at all, merely saying that this sort of question is of necessity one of preference rather than objective fact. Accuracy? Quartz. Elegance? Mechanical or automatic. Most useful all round? Solar atomic.
"When the music's over, turn out the lights."
koimaster (Online)
Administrator/Founder
Facebook ID: 100000918104351

Post by koimaster » December 26th 2010, 8:31pm

Quartz to me lacks soul. Efficient and very accurate and affordable.